Categories Is It Vegan

Is It Vegan?: Pringles

pringles are vegan!

Pringles are a highly processed potato chip, in fact, it is less than 50% potato by weight. In order to make this delicious junky snack food, they combine dried potato flakes with water and corn starch. After that, they shape the new potato paste into a chip shape, and deep fry them in vegetable oil.

Some Pringles are vegans, while others contain dairy products in them. The vegan ones include:

  • Original
  • BBQ
  • Salsa Tortilla
  • Fiery Sweet BBQ
  • Tangy Buffalo Wing
  • Lightly Salted
  • Original Reduced fat

What are Natural Flavors?

There are many rumors regarding this word, as it can mean a lot of things. The legal definition of the term is:

“the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional”

Meaning that it could be just about anything. What about beaver anal secretions?

Well, that is so unlikely that even considering it is obnoxious. Yes, processed anal secretions from beavers have historically been used in the perfume industry and in the food industry due to the ability for it to enhance flavors and scents. This is known as castoreum, but should we be concerned about this product? Well, according to Snopes, no.

“the publicity afforded castoreum in recent years via alarmist food activists and “Did you know?” social media posts is vastly overblown. The use of castoreum in common food products today is exceedingly rare, in large part because collecting the substance is difficult (and therefore expensive)…

According to Fernelli’s Handbook of Flavor Ingredients, total annual national consumption of castoreum, castoreum extract, and castoreum liquid combined is only about 292 pounds, which works out to an average of less than a millionth of a pound per person in the U.S. Compare that figure with the approximately 20 million pounds of vanilla naturally harvested from real vanilla beans every year.”

So no need to worry about Natural Flavorings

Is Sugar Vegan?

I am not going to go too much into detail here, as I have already went into detail in my post on Starburst, but in short, yes. While some companies process sugar through the charred bones of animals, focusing on eliminating sugar, which is added to almost everything, can make veganism far too restrictive to most people. By eliminating animal products, you are already eliminating 99.99% of all suffering caused to animals. Stressing yourself out over such a small byproduct that may or may not even be present, is unnecessary.

Why Add Dairy To Potato Chips?

Adding dairy products to a potato chip may seem like a strange thing to do. However, it is not uncommon. This is mostly added for flavor purposes, such as in Nacho Cheese chips, or Ranch flavored chips. However, it may seem as if adding it to chips like Salt and Vinegar chips is odd.

Lactose, which is a milk sugar, is often used in highly salty chips in order to tone down the acidity. This can help to make the chip more manageable to most people. I have also heard that it makes a good binding agent, but I am not sure how true that is, saying that chips are usually coated in flavoring right after the frying process.

But What About Parent Companies?

Boycotting an otherwise vegan product simply because the parent company has other products that are not vegan, or are tested on animals is silly. In fact, I will let Unnatural Vegan explain it a lot better than I can.

In short, yes, those certain flavors of pringles listed above are, in fact, vegan. So if you want a great tasting chip to consume, try a delicious BBQ or Salsa pringle!